Knowledge-Sharing Platform

Central Asian Countries Initiative for Land Management

Technologies

Energy-efficient greenhouses

Background

In light of the forecasted deficit of energy resources in the world, including countries of Central Asia, the problem of energy use efficiency and shifting to alternative energy sources have become acute. Some countries have made progress in introducing energy efficient technologies, but the use of alternative energy sources remains insufficient. For example, Uzbekistan has the potential to generate 179 mln. tons of fuel equivalent through alternative energy sources (hydropower, solar, wind, geothermal), but exploited is below 1% of the total potential.

Consequences of the global climate change such as harsh weather conditions, frequent droughts and variable precipitation, decreased irrigation water supply and decreased centralized natural gas supply, especially to rural areas of the region, threaten sustainable rural livelihoods, which dwell 60-70% of the total population.

Renewable energy sources in agricultural production are insufficiently used. Alternative energy sources (solar, biogas) are not applied or are applied occasionally due to high investment costs or lack of knowledge and habits of the local rural population. Still, there are plenty of sunny days in Central Asian countries, even during the winter season. Solar energy can be applied for heating purposes in houses, schools, other constructions, but also for off-season agricultural activities, such as year-round production of agricultural products in greenhouses.

Several years ago rural families could sustain ordinary greenhouses (heated with gas), but lately due to decreased gas supply and severe winters most of such greenhouses were abandoned. Some agricultural producers switched to active use of charcoal and the more so of fuel wood for heating their greenhouses, thus putting additional burden on the environment and contributing to its further deterioration.

Greenhouse without heating properties can be used for short-term production of agricultural products, whereas heated greenhouse can produce vegetables all-year-round. Agricultural plants need specific and stable temperature regime – the temperature should not fall below + 18°С. Such favorable temperature regimes could be sustained either by installing heating system with alternative energy sources or by constructing alternative to ordinary greenhouses energy efficient greenhouses such as passive solar greenhouse or subsurface greenhouse-thermos.

Project Purpose

Acting as an information repository and knowledge hub, this website helps to increase the use of innovations developed by the well-established CACILM Project in Central Asia. Its synthesis, compilation, and dissemination of current research provide a secure knowledge base that policymakers and other stakeholders can access and utilize to develop sustainable strategies capable of addressing the region’s severe land degradation.

The Project is funded by IFAD and led by ICARDA under framework of CGIAR Research Program on Dryland Systems.

Visualization of technologies

Technologies

Demo Plots

Climate Change Data for SWAT

Facebook


© 2015. CACILM.ORG
Knowledge-sharing platform.

Платформа обмена знаниями

Инициатива стран Центральной Азии по управлению земельными ресурсами

Технологии

Энергоэффективные теплицы

Предпосылки

В свете надвигающегося дефицита энергоресурсов в мире и в странах Центральной Азии, актуально стоит вопрос повышения эффективности использования энергии и развития альтернативных источников энергии. Широко внедряется экономия использования энергоресурсов в хозяйственно-производственной деятельности стран, однако использование альтернативных источников энергии продолжает оставаться незначительным. К примеру, потенциал производства возобновляемой энергетики (гидро, солнечной, ветряной, геотермальной) в Узбекистане составляет 179 млн. т.н.э., но пока освоено менее 1%.

Проблемы, вызванные изменением климата, такие как ужесточение погодных условий, участившиеся засухи, сокращение водоподачи на орошение, а также сокращение подачи природного газа и в особенности в сельские районы региона, ставят под угрозу стабильное существование сельского населения, которое составляет 60-70% от общего населения стран региона.

Использование возобновляемых источников энергии в сельскохозяйственном секторе незначительно. Альтернативные источники энергии (солнце, биогаз) не применяются, или применяются крайне редко по незнанию либо из-за дороговизны, хотя, солнечных дней в странах Центральной Азии предостаточно: погода солнечная, особенно в зимний период. Солнечную радиацию можно использовать не только для обогрева жилых домов, школ, но и для несезонной сельскохозяйственной деятельности, и в частности в теплицах или парниках.

Еще несколько лет назад сельские жители могли содержать обычные (обогреваемые газом или углем) теплицы и лимонарии, однако, из-за снижения газоподачи и очень холодных зим вышли из строя и промерзли многие теплицы в регионе. Ввиду частых перебоев и прекращения подачи природного газа на классические теплицы, сельхопроизводители стали активно использовать уголь и древесину для обогрева теплиц, что внесло свою лепту в ухудшение экологического состояния в сельской местности.

Теплица без отопления дает возможность получать урожай лишь в короткий теплый период года. В отапливаемой же теплице можно получить в несколько раз больший выход продукции. Для успешного выращивания растений нужен определенный температурный режим. Минимальная температура для развития овощей + 18°С. Этого можно достичь, устроив систему отопления в теплице с подогревом альтернативными источниками энергии либо за счет широкого внедрения альтернативы обычным теплицам - пассивной солнечной теплицы и подземной теплицы термоса.

Цель проекта

Собрать все лучшее, что накоплено в Центральной Азии по устойчивому управлению земельными ресурсами, - такова цель регионального проекта «Улучшение использования и формирования знаний по устойчивому управлению земельными ресурсами в Центральной Азии». В проекте участвуют пять стран.

Проект осуществляется международ- ным центром ИКАРДА при финансовой поддержке IFAD в рамках исследовательской программы КГХМСХИ по засушливым системам.

Визуализация технологий

Технологии

Демонстрационные Участки

Climate Change Data for SWAT

Facebook


© 2015. CACILM.ORG
Платформа обмена знаниями.